Unlike other states in U.S, before you drive car in Washington, you must be financially responsible. It’s very important that you obtain car insurance or an alternative form of financial responsibility for your vehicle, before you can register your vehicle and drive on the road.
This article will discuss more about Washington Car Insurance, minimum requirements, alternative car insurance in Washington and as well the cheapest car insurance in Washington.
Minimum Car insurance requirements in Washington
Washington drivers are required to purchase liability insurance. By doing so, if you’re ever found at fault in a car accident, liability coverage pays for others’ property damage and injury expenses.
Washington state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per crash
- $10,000 property damage liability per crash.
Alternative Car Insurance in Washington
If you drive car in Washington, and you are one way or the other denied coverage on the voluntary market. This may be because of poor credit, a spotty driving record or other factors. Their is still hope for you, in as much as auto insurance is important, you can apply for a policy through the Washington Automobile Insurance Plan.
Cheapest car insurance in Washington
|Drivers with one at-fault crash||State Farm|
|Drivers with poor credit||Safeco|
Rating factors for Washington Auto insurance
The basic rating factors for auto insurance are the same, but how insurance company weighs each item varies. Below are rating factors looked at by insurers:
- Your age
- Your marital status (Washington requires insurers to consider domestic partnerships the same as married couples for rating purposes)
- Your Address
- Your driving record and driving experience
- Claims history
- Credit history
- Your vehicle
The coverages, limits and deductibles you choose will also make a difference in how much you will pay in premiums.
More from Insurance Gist